Ossiach Abbey
The Benedictine monastery of Ossiach, founded by the Bavarian Count Ozi and his wife Irgenburgis, was built directly on the shores of Lake Ossiacher See over 1000 years ago. Since 1996, the monastery has been owned by the state of Carinthia and has also been the venue for the annual "Carinthian Summer" music and culture festival with around 10,000 visitors for 50 years now.
However, the abbey is not only interesting for music lovers. Inside, the magnificent former monastery church boasts a four-bay, three-aisled nave, a 14th century baptistery, the baroque pulpit from 1725 and, of course, the Wilhelm Backhaus memorial organ. It commemorates the famous German pianist Wilhelm Backhaus, who gave his last concert in Ossiach before his death.
Guided tours of Ossiach Abbey Church (Assumption of the Virgin Mary) are possible by appointment at the parish office.
The monastery is also home to the Carinthian Music Academy.
Further information


